Higher Education

Higher Education

Australian Catholic University

The Australian Catholic University (ACU) has decided to launch SafeZone across all of its campuses for the 2016 Academic year beginning in February.  A not-for-profit institution, ACU was founded in 1991 as a national public teaching and research university, and is open to students and staff of all beliefs.

Headquartered in Sydney and active among the 200+ members of the International Federation of Catholic Universities, ACU recently hosted the 2015 IFCU General Assembly. The university’s 22,000 students and staff attend campuses in North Sydney, Strathfield, Melbourne, Brisbane, Ballarat, Adelaide and Canberra. ACU students also engage in a wide range of international study programs with universities in Europe, Asia and the Americas.

Looking to deploy a sophisticated Emergency Management and Notifications system, ACU’s management team will be using the latest SafeZone developments in emergency messaging and coordination. In addition to large-scale emergency management, by enabling users to raise instant personal alerts to ACU’s Security team in the field and the new high-tech National Operations Centre, SafeZone will deliver heightened personal well-being to students and staff and also help with better management of lone worker presence across all campuses nationally.

Click here to go to Australian Catholic University website

University of Zurich

Largest of Switzerland’s 20+ universities, the University of Zurich is using SafeZone to provide tailored personal safety services to students and staff in a complex environment of 126 sites distributed across Zurich’s city area.

Available from March 2015 to more than 26,000 students and 8,000 staff, SafeZone’s mass notification and check-in features are used in combination by the University to activate specific groups of people during large-scale emergencies.

Founded in 1883, the University of Zurich is comprised of in 160 institutes, departments and clinics and boasts 12 of its scholars as Nobel Laureates, including Albert Einstein (1921). The university is a member of  the League of European Research Universities (LERU), and has established world-class renown in the fields of medicine, immunology, genetics, neuroscience and structural biology as well as in economics.

Click here to go to Zurich’s SafeZone page (in Swiss German).

University of York

University of York also launched SafeZone in January 2015 – our first customer from the Russell Group of universities. Since its opening in 1963, York has become one of the world’s leading universities, carving out a reputation as an academic powerhouse where a clear focus on excellence has secured national and international recognition alongside longer established institutions. The university has some 20,000 students and staff.

Click here to go to York’s announcement about SafeZone.

Northumbria University, Newcastle

Northumbria University launched SafeZone in January 2015, being the first university in Europe to do so. A research-rich, business-focused, professional university with a global reputation for academic excellence, Northumbria is one of the largest universities in the UK with more than 33,000 students from 135 countries.

Click here to go to Northumbria’s announcement about SafeZone.

Central Queensland University

The Central Queensland University (CQU) is launching SafeZone for  the start of the 2015 academic year. In 2014, CQU and Central Queensland Institute of TAFE  merged to become  Queensland’s first dual sector university. Headquartered at Rockhampton, a Queensland regional hub 650km North of Brisbane and adjacent to the Great Barrier Reef, CQU is a pioneer of distance learning with more than 45,000 students and staff at 27 campuses and learning facilities across Australia.

Click here to go to CQUniversity’s website.

Queensland University of Technology

The Queensland University of Technology (QUT) launched its SafeZone system early in 2014. With more than 45,000 students and staff, QUT was our first customer in Queensland, where SafeZone is currently available to all users of the Gardens Point and Kelvin Grove campuses.

Click here to see QUT’s SafeZone page.

University of South Australia

The University of South Australia (UniSA) is based in Adelaide, the capital of the state of South Australia. UniSA’s 32,000 students and staff attend six campuses – two in the Adelaide CBD and one each in the suburbs of Magill and Mawson Lakes. Additionally there are campuses in the rural cities of Whyalla and Mount Gambier, meaning that the security team’s responsibility is spread across 6 locations that are spread 800 km apart. Remarkably, this whole operation, involving 30 trained SafeZone responders operates without any centralised control room – enabled by the fact that SafeZone enables control-room functionality on each team member’s iPhone as well as at Security shop-front locations.

Click here to see University of South Australia’s SafeZone page.

RMIT University

With over 53,000 students and staff, RMIT University is one of Australia’s largest Higher Education institutions. SafeZone is currently running across three campuses in Melbourne – the city campus is renowned for its innovative architecture and the fact that its buildings are embedded in the city environment, the university owning some 7% of all CBD property.  Despite its city focus, RMIT also uses Safezone across other satellite campuses and facilities in Victoria, located up to 300 km from the CBD.

Click here to see RMIT University’s SafeZone page.

Deakin University

Deakin University launched SafeZone for its 43,000 students and staff in January 2014. The university has four campuses and three learning centres distributed across a distance of 300 kms between the cities of Melbourne, Geelong and Warrnambool in the state of Victoria. SafeZone is available to all students and staff across all campuses, with dedicated response teams in each location.

Click here to see Deakin University’s SafeZone page.

University of Wollongong

The University of Wollongong (UOW) participated in our first Pilot of SafeZone in 2012, and continued to a full-scale deployment in 2013. UOW is based in the regional city of Wollongong on the New South Wales coast south of Sydney, Australia. It has 29,000 students and staff with two campuses and 7 residential villages covered by SafeZone in Wollongong, five smaller satellite campuses and facilities on the NSW South Coast and in Sydney plus a campus in Dubai, UAE.

CriticalArc and UOW continue their close collaboration for the ongoing enhancement of SafeZone, with most recent developments including advanced uses for lone worker Check-Ins in a national laboratory where researchers work around the clock, often using extremely volatile materials.

Click here to see University of Wollongong’s SafeZone page.

Curtin University

Based in Perth, Western Australia, Curtin University launched SafeZone in January 2013. With 45,000 students and staff, SafeZone helps the Curtin Security team to cover three campuses and facilities in Perth, as well as their School of Mines at Kalgoorlie, the world-famous gold mining city, 600km from the main campus at Bentley, WA.
Click here to see Curtin University’s SafeZone page.

© Copyright CriticalArc Pty. Ltd. 2017